Learning Theory Matrix

This week we were instructed to create a Learning Theory Matrix that focused on Behaviorism, Cognitivism, Constructivism, and Connectivism. When I began this assignment, I was not familiar with a matrix or connectivism. After reading through the links that were provided, I learned more about Connectivism and how it relates to the other learning theories. I also did some research on Google and discovered that a matrix is a way to organize information. Creating this matrix was a great way to organize the differences between the four different learning theories.

I believe the information regarding these four learning theories will influence my personal practice in many ways. These learning theories give me insight on how people learn and will help me reach all of my students and all of their individual needs. The information I gained during this assignment helped me realize that it is vital to adapt your teaching style to the needs of your students. No two students learn the same way, so it is very important to be familiar with all of the different learning theories so you can put those practices into place in the classroom. I plan to use these theories to help my students learn in the way that is easiest for them.

While completing this assignment, my biggest challenge was figuring out how technology would align with the various theories. I overcame this obstacle by thinking about the various forms of technology I have used while teaching professionally. After taking into account all of the technology I’ve used, I was able to connect them to each individual learning theory.

Sources:

http://thepeakperformancecenter.com/educational-learning/learning/theories/

https://www.wgu.edu/blog/five-educational-learning-theories2005.html

3 thoughts on “Learning Theory Matrix

  1. Hey Mary Beth! First of all, I love the theme that you chose for your blog, it is so cute. Second, I love how colorful your matrix is. I was also unfamiliar with what a matrix was and I had never heard of connectivism so we are the same when it comes to that. I had to do some research and look at examples to figure out how to make a matrix and what connectivism was as well as how to apply it. I also see that we used some of the same technologies like class dojo and powerpoint, both of which are platforms that I love to use.

    Like

  2. Mary Beth,

    Adapting teaching styles to your students is so important, I agree with you. The matrix is a great tool to have handy at a quick glance to help tailor teaching styles to each student. The more we can connect and tap into how students learn best, the more successful the individual learning journey becomes.

    Like

  3. Hi Mary Beth,
    I think your matrix was very creative and organized. I also love how you have your blog set up. It shows a lot of personality and makes it fun!

    Like

Leave a comment